Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Office of the Secretary

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Senior Staff​​​

Lindy Casebier


Lindy Casebier, a Louisville native, was appointed by Gov. Beshear in February 2023 as the Secretary of the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet. Secretary Casebier was appointed as Deputy Secretary for the Kentucky Personnel Cabinet in December 2019  after many years as a public school educator, administrator, legislator and non-profit director. Casebier previously served in senior roles within the Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet. For 18 years, Casebier represented Louisville in the Kentucky General Assembly, where he chaired the Senate Education Committee. Prior to joining the Beshear administration, he served as executive director of Louisville Visual Art.​

Mona Lewis Juett

Chief of Staff

​Mona Lewis Juett was appointed as the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet's chief of staff in January 2023. Juett is a veteran of the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, having served since 2007 in various roles, such as research director, legislative director, assistant director for resorts within the Department of Parks, and most recently, deputy commissioner of the Department of Tourism. Prior to her career in state government, Mona was marketing manager for The Council of State Governments in Lexington. Juett is a graduate of Morehead State University.  

Cannon Armstrong

Cannon Armstrong

Executive Director of Human Resources

Office of the Secretary

​Cannon, a native of Albany, comes to the Cabinet with several years of public service experience in both agency management and legal affairs. Prior to joining the Cabinet, he served as the Commissioner of the Department of Charitable Gaming.  He previously worked in the Public Protection Cabinet, Labor Cabinet, Department of Workers' Claims and the Public Service Commission. Cannon lives with his family in Lexington.

Cannon joined the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet as Executive Director of Human Resources in January 2020. 

Melissa Brewer

Executive Director of Finance

Office of the Secretary

​Melissa is a Frankfort native and a career state government employee. Brewer held various finance positions throughout her professional tenure, primarily focused on budget, financial management, accounting and administrative services. She has previously worked for Public Health Protection and Safety and the Administration and Financial Management within the Cabinet for Health and Family Services. 

Brewer joined the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet in 2008, holding positions of Budget Manager, Division Director of Finance at the Kentucky Horse Park, and Accounting Branch Manager in the Department for Fish and Wildlife. Brewer was promoted to Executive Director of the Office of Finance in January 2022.

Sarah Grider Cronan

General Counsel

Office of the Secretary

​Sarah is a Louisville native, and recently returned to Kentucky after serving as in-house corporate counsel for two global product manufacturers in the Carolinas. She previously was a partner at law firms in Louisville and Chicago. Sarah was listed in Kentucky Super Lawyers 2012 and 2013 and was one of the Top 25 Women Super Lawyers of Kentucky in 2013. She earned her undergraduate degree from Tulane University and graduated from the Vanderbilt University Law School.

Sarah joined the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet as General Counsel in January 2020.

Anita Hatchett

Executive Director

Public Affairs and Constituent Services

Raised in Frankfort, KY, Anita Hatchett is a Franklin County High School graduate. After receiving a BA in English from the University of Kentucky, she served as a graphic design coordinator for the Kentucky Department of Education for nine years. In August 2017, Hatchett worked as a graphic designer for publications in the University of Kentucky College of Agriculture, Food and Environment communications office. 

Hatchett joined the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet as the Creative Director of Public Affairs and Constituent Services in March 2020 and was appointed to serve as Executive Director on July 16, 2022. ​

​Office of the Secretary​​​

Cindy Brown

Special Assistant

Charles Higginbotham

Executive Director

Evan B. Jones

Assistant General Counsel

Peter Klear

Staff Attorney III

Jacob Lilly

Executive Assistant

Becky Long

Executive Staff Advisor

Donna Schneiter

Deputy General Counsel

Liz Roach

Deputy Communications Director

Ramona Rudolph

Special Assistant

Greg Smith

Greg Smith

Digital Director